3 dozen summer squash and counting

I’ve been thinking about local food a lot this week.  My garden is at its most fruitful, with new zucchini and cherry tomatoes daily, and plenty of chard, parsley, and basil to supply us.  Plus, I’m participating in a local food discussion course entitled Hungry for Change which has me thinking about the impact of my food choices.  Each week of the course, I’m supposed to choose an action to take inspired by the readings and discussion.  For this week, I challenged myself to eat local fruits and vegetables at every meal.  Although it might have sounded daunting to me even a year ago, I’ve gotten so passionate about my local options and my little garden that it even surprised me how easy it has been.  But it is the month of blueberries, peaches, new potatoes, corn, tomatoes, and zucchini, so how could it be hard to eat all this good food?

This week also marks our eating or preserving of our 39th summer squash!  Pretty impressive since we ate squash number 1 on July 1.  I did give 3 squash away this week to a friend, but it was more in the spirit of sharing what we have and not because we were overwhelmed.  In return for our 3 squash, I got a pint of homemade plum jam, so I definitely got the better half of the bargain.

So how have we been tackling our recent squash?

Our 32nd and 33rd summer squash were sliced and sautéed and along with some roasted cherry tomatoes, basil, and goat cheese, topped an amazing pizza.  Although the children may have picked off some or all of the vegetables, no one really complained, It was that good!

Our 34th and 35th and 36th squash became more squash pancakes . . . using the same recipe described in my earlier post.

Our 37th and 38th squash was shredded and sautéed in lard and topped with soy sauce.  Along with a smoothie, it was a very filling lunch for me and the mister.

And the 39th squash?  Squash brownies via Simply in Season.

Now, I only have a couple of squash in my fridge . . . and at least 2 more that will need to be picked tomorrow.  But the important thing is that I’m keeping up and really enjoying all of this “free” food from our backyard.  And my food budget?  Well with 3 days left to the month, I still have $50 in our food budget which just means more money that can go to stocking up on produce to preserve for winter time.  Thank you, zucchini and yellow squash!

Leave a Reply

