Summer squash #2

Recent harvest from our garden.

Recent harvest from our garden.

For squash #2 of the summer, I chose another kid-friendly dish, although not as friendly as the dish chosen for squash #1.  I took the yellow squash pictured above, grated it, squeezed a bit of the water out of it, and then mixed it with 8 eggs, 3/4 tsp salt, 2 garlic cloves, and a bit of basil to make a frittata.  Matt is on a grain-free, dairy-free 10-day diet of sorts, so I wanted to make this o.k. for him, otherwise, I’d add some cheese and milk.  Leftover rice or pasta, cooked sliced potatoes, or any other cooked vegetable would also work.  Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes, until knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

In the summer, I love frittatas, pizzas, and stir-frys, because they’ll work with any veggies you have hanging around, including zucchinis and summer squash.  So far, I only have 2 squash plants producing and I’ve already harvested 3 large squashes.  I’m excited to see what will happen when the rest start cranking them out.

2 thoughts on “Summer squash #2

Leave a Reply

