A new way to save at the grocery store

Every year at this time I find myself visiting the grocery store more than usual.  It is the in between time for my local food options as my winter CSA is finished, but my local farmers markets is not open and the little green stuff that is available from local farmers for purchase is a bit too dear for our family’s food budget.  So, we eat from our pantry and supplement our stores with the sales found in our grocery store circulars.

I was pleasantly surprised when I was able to save 57% off my grocery bill (I know it isn’t really 57% because I wouldn’t have bought this stuff at full price, but it was 57% off retail), by matching the sales items in the circulars with the coupons listed in the coupon database at Surviving the Stores.  All you have to do is search for a product or product type and the search will give you links to printable online coupons, including ones available at the manufacturer’s website, or information about unexpired coupons distributed in local newspapers.

Here are a few tips to get the most out of the database:

  • Save coupon inserts from newspapers with the newspaper date written on them.  This database and other couponing websites always tell you whether the coupon was published in Red Plum (RP), SmartSource (SS), or some other insert and the date it was published.  Now I don’t clip coupons unless I decide to exploit a deal I find online.  You can often get coupons or inserts for free from a library or family member.
  • Use it in conjunction with a sales circular to get the best deals.
  • Only buy things that you need or that will contribute to a healthy meal your family enjoys! Couponing does not need to equal hoarding.
  • Using two coupons on items available for a buy-one-get-one-free sale is an easy way to save a large percentage.

Do you have any other easy ways you save at the grocery store?

Leave a Reply

