Back to the basics

Super crunchy life = natural childbirth.
When we had our first child, we were so clueless about labor and childbirth. We went along with whatever the midwives and nurses suggested, which led to Pitocin, an epidural, and an episiotomy. Recovery wasn’t fun, but could have been worse. When we conceived our second child, we wanted something more. I began to search for a better way. I read several books on natural childbirth and techniques to achieve it. We hired a doula and took Bradley classes. We practiced relaxation and I made sure to prepare my body for labor. I wanted to feel everything this time around. I didn’t want to just have a baby, I wanted to be in control and connected to my body and the work it was doing. This is a life changing event!!!

Well, the time came, and all the practicing and preparing enabled me to have the most amazing birh experience! There were no interventions, no drugs, nothing but me listening to my body and allowing it to do what it was created to do. Because I had no drugs, my body felt so good that in no time I was up and walking around unassisted. I pushed my child to our hospital room! This whole experience is empowering! The confidence this builds is like nothing else.

I’m very grateful for my support that I was able to achieve this with their help, especially my husband.
There are many people who feel like drugs must be a necessary part of childbirth, but my story along with several women I know, is proof that it is simply not true. I recommend drug free to anyone. If I’m so blessed to have another child, it will be the same way. Drug free is for me!

4 thoughts on “Back to the basics

    • It’s always great to hear another natural birth story! I enjoy reading birth stories. Something about this entire experience has sparked a passion in me that I want to learn more about pregnancy, labor and birth, but also in the capacity to help other women. I think what you are doing with your blog is a great idea!

      • Me too! It’s been so enjoyable learning more and sharing with other women (either by encouraging them or by learning from their experience). It’s just such a beautiful, natural thing! 🙂
        Thanks, blogging is a really nice way to interact with others. I love it! And only wish I’d done it sooner. 😉

Leave a Reply

