Hard working vinegar

20130310-045729.jpg

I was so excited when Joshua wrote about how he uses a vinegar solution as a weed killer because

  1. I may need some weed killer as I have my first yard and do not know what I am doing with it at all.
  2. I love using vinegar around the house because it is cheap and not full of chemicals.

The two ways I regularly use vinegar around the house are as a glass cleaner and as a solution for washing our hardwood floors.  I love that these cleansers are easy-to-make and inexpensive.  Better yet, I got these recipes from Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook, and if they are Martha-approved, they must be good.

Glass cleaner: 1 part vinegar + 1 part water.  Cleans spots off my mirrors and glass with a little elbow grease and leaves a pleasant vinegar smell behind.

Floor cleaner (wood floors): 1/4 cup vinegar + 1 quart of warm water.  Change water frequently–as soon as it gets dirty.

Have any other uses for vinegar around the house?  Please share!

3 thoughts on “Hard working vinegar

  1. Vinegar and Dawn dish soap is THE best soap scum remover I have ever used and is wonderful for glass shower doors – no spots and you can do it while you are in the shower!

  2. Awesome cleaner recipes. Gonna definitely give them a whack.

    I recently started making laundry detergent and then made dishwasher detergent. While researching how to make dishwasher detergent I read that you can use white vinegar in the after rinse reservoir to make your dishes spotless. So, I did just that. They aren’t spotless, but still clean and vinegar costs a whole lot less than Jet Dry.

  3. I use it instead of fabric softener in the washmachine. It leaves colors and whites bright, everything extra soft and doesn’t smell like vinegar after just the usual rinse cycle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

