Zucchini #1 of ?

And suddenly, it is July.  How did we get here so fast?  My smallish garden is beginning to yield a good amount of food for our family and fittingly, we harvested our very first zucchini of the season which we ate for dinner on July 1.

Zucchini is notorious for being such a prolific producer that farmers big and small must give zucchini away to willing or unwilling friends and neighbors.  I’ve been quoted as saying that my family can eat as much zucchini as the universe throws our way, so I thought it might be fun for me to document exactly how many summer squash, zucchini or otherwise, our family can eat this summer and how we do it.  Maybe it will help someone somewhere deal with their own zucchini backlog.

For our very first zucchini, I wanted something to get the kids excited.  My 3-year-old and 1-year-old worked together to pick the zucchini and carry it into the house, so the excitement was already high.  I didn’t want to kill it with something that seemed a little too vegetable-heavy for their childish tastes.  So to ease them into our hopefully bumper crop of zucchini, I started with a pancake recipe that was like breakfast pancakes, not savory pancakes.  Seasoned with cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, and topped with some raw, grass-fed butter and local maple syrup, these pancakes were in high demand.  Next time, we’ll need to make a double batch.  Best thing is that these were so popular, the 3-year-old is excited to eat zucchini again and I know that he would love these for breakfast.  Sneaking zucchini in for breakfast . . . that’s what I call keeping up with your zucchini!

The recipe I followed is Zucchini Bread Pancakes from Smitten Kitchen, although I used a box grater because I hate to dirty my processor for one easy-to-grate zucchini.

Any favorite zucchini recipes you want to throw our way?

2 thoughts on “Zucchini #1 of ?

Leave a Reply

